Razor wire tight rope

Just occasionally (;-) ) I am thankful that nobody would ever entrust a particular service to the laity. It is particularly true of Remembrance Sunday. It is a terrifyingly vertiginous balancing act. There we sit. Those like me, lifelong pacifists, terrified that it will all slip into the glorification of war. And there sit those who believe with equal passion that we need to defend ourselves and fight for right. And there is a real need to acknowledge the heroism of those who put their lives on the line because even if the cause is misplaced the nobility of sacrifice is still there. And there is a need to acknowledge the horrible futility of war: at best a descent into the barbarism of the toddler years.

The dispassionate part of myself who sits in as recorder on the rest of my feelings, would like to note that last Sunday at Kilmarnock, that razor wire tightrope was successfully negotiated.

6 responses to “Razor wire tight rope

  1. It was with great sorrow I decided not to wear a poppy this year, I felt that this year the poppy was being aimed too much as a thanksgiving for our troops at war, rather than a ‘lest we forget message’.

  2. Well, I do agree it is a difficult issue as already explained so well. Today, I found myself explaining to people in work that Germans do mark the wars and the holocaust (to their surprise I add). Having lived in Germany and having read books such as all Quiet on the Western Front and The Radetzsky March it is difficult to decide whether wearing a poppy is right.

  3. rosemaryhannah

    People die on both sides, don’t they? The horrors of saturation bombing on German cities. I did wear a poppy, with misgivings. One can get white poppies, from peace organisations.

  4. Last year, I left it to the lay team in one of the churches, and although the sermon was balanced, the service frayed despite much careful preparation. This year, I called in a priest for the service I wasn’t taking myself. It is possibly the trickiest liturgy of the year to hold.

  5. But the sermon was still preached by a hapless lay person!

  6. no, not hapless. well prepared and able.

    Holding the liturgy is something else, though, and the team isn’t there yet.

Leave a Reply

