Fringe benefits

Worship in a warm atmosphere, yet another sermon on the reading, an insight into something I want to write, somewhat at a tangent from what is going on elsewhere, and then starting to get to know fellow members of the church. One conversation approached what I privately (or now publicly) call ‘simplicity’ (high praise in my personal speak) where both speaking are at times able to speak truly and openly and kindly and without that (to me terribly trying) pretence that we are much brighter, and stronger, than actually are.

And on top of all of that, the fringe benefits – for gentle readers I now worship in Glasgow. After filling my face with cake at church, I sauntered up to the Uni library, stopping to buy some very cheap strawberries to complete my lunch, and also some gooseberries so that in due course I can make gooseberry ice cream for deserving visitors (what a bribe!). You don’t GET gooseberries in Ayrshire. Then after work in a surprisingly crowded library, back again. Past the shop selling clothes for posh kids, where everything is half price and twice what I could afford still (but I could make a skirt like that, I think). Past the Asian fabric shop (ooh, I’d like some of that, and some of that, and just a little …) and the grocers with watermelons too big for beach balls (twice what I paid in Lidl last week, and far too big for one person, but what fun!) and the very posh interior designers (just put the Asian fabric into a cushion cover and hey presto) … yes, the fringe benefits are considerable.

6 responses to “Fringe benefits

  1. cake instead of the custard creams I remember in my youth, how very wanton mother – what would St Bernard say! Though I suppose Gregory would think it a good thing – and his great uncle was a saint so who can argue with him?

  2. rosemaryhannah

    I would never argue with Gregory.

  3. Schmeekins

    Let alone tell him to clear off!

  4. there’s a cafe you should try. Fabulous baklava, and staff who will adore you and only charge you for half of what you’ve ordered.

    but how to tell you when I can’t remember the name. It’s the opposite side of the street from the cathedral. Walk back towards lansdown church, and it’s there on the left just before you get to the road that would lead you (variously) to the Kelvingrove Undetground car part and/or towards St Silas. They usually have a board outside, and I think it’s bright yellow.

    Fabulous babganoush too.

  5. rosemaryhannah

    Oh, you temptress! I walked past it, at that point tempted but without sin. Yearning, as often, for the flesh pots of Ilford.

    Next time coincidence brings us both a free morning in Glasgow we will meet there. The wonders of park and ride and the underground will make it simple.

  6. my typing seems to have developed a bad german accent. some wednesday, we could ‘do lunch’? but first we must try the India Gate in Dunblane…

Leave a Reply

