A public convenience

Blogs are public – I never really took on board just how public until I got hauled over the coals, more or less, for what I had written on one.  It was felt that the public acknowledgement of doubts and reservations make me just too – well, in a sense, unsettling, I suppose.  Or perhaps hurtful – something far from my agenda.  That, in turn, made me feel very hurtfully rejected (we want you, but not all of you).  But in another sense, in the sense that I was causing pain without meaning to, it was fair enough.

So I have tried to remember that this blog is a public place.  Usually I have enough to speak of in public without inconvenience, as you might say.

This last week it has all been private; the hopes, and joys and frustrations.  And I have been silent in public.

5 responses to “A public convenience

  1. just before reading this, I’d been emailing a friend about why I hadn’t been communicating online much —
    and that was because this little introvert has had somewhat more human contact than is sustainable, and hadn’t the energy for extroverted blogging.

    Public indeed.

    Hope the joys outlive the frustrations.

  2. Please keep blogging – you always have something worthwhile to say. The only way to avoid being hauled over the coals is to say and do nothing, and what sort of world would that be?

  3. So sorry to hear that you’ve experienced that painful clash – I know it is a difficult issue that I expect most writers face at some point or other and there are no easy answers. I for one, think your ‘public acknowledgement of doubts and reservations’ show that you’re human! And surely this is the place where we all grow? But then, if you are hurt and others are hurt, that’s not something I want to dismiss lightly. So I’ll just say I hope you keep blogging, you have readers who want to hear you.

  4. rosemaryhannah

    I thought a bit before blogging on this – as usual there are no simple rights and wrongs. I have definitely changed my blogging style since the incident which was some time ago. (Usually, those I write about have been dead more than 100 years – this helps a lot). In the end, I decided it was a public issue.

    I think clergy bloggers have a much more difficult job because so much of their working life intersects the issue. But I do believe transparency is important – only, like much clothing when one gets older, transparency in the form of a drape over under clothes which hide truly private parts.

  5. Welcome to the club, Rosemary – I don’t know why blogging upsets some people more than other means of communication, but it does. And of course thoughtless comments can wound those one might not even think of as reading what you write. It’s all a matter of taking heed, I think – and then publishing and … (you know the rest!)

Leave a Reply

