… that was its name

Half the animals on this holding have names, proper names. They are the lucky ones. Jacob, and Mace, and Max, and now one of the sheep. And the Three Musketeers.

I had three sheep, Polly and Cotton and the lamb. The lamb was destined to the deep freeze. But then a tragedy happened. Cotton, who was over-stout, got on her back in the field and died. She was my favourite sheep and I was most upset. I was also in a dilemma. Because Polly is not young, and she might not have another ewe lamb, and if she did not before she died, I would be without a descendant of Eve, the late and great. ~So I have taken the decision that the lamb should stay, which meant finding a name. Since she is neurotic and constantly certain that she and her mother are Doomed, Doomed I Tell You, she has been named Cassandra, or Cassie, and in her name, she is assured of life, since I cannot eat those who are named.

The Three Musketeers are also benefiting from a tragedy. Their mother and their other nine siblings were abstracted (missing presumed eaten) by a person or persons unknown. 3 blog
It has taken a good deal of care to get them independent and thriving. In the process they got a name. And a life.

And today I inspected the pitifully thin little ewe who has been seeking refuge in my outbuildings with real desperation. She is too thin – I suspect she missed out on worming for liver fluke. The shepherd has 2000 sheep. One is not at a premium. I will buy her wormer (and my own girls too). And I guess, if she does, I shall have to have a conversation with the shepherd about a change of ownership.

13 responses to “… that was its name

  1. Is she a black face? That means you could possibly eat Cassandra after all.

  2. rosemaryhannah

    She is a blackface. Poor Cassandra, no I can’t eat her now. Anyhow that would prove her gloomy prognostications were right!

  3. But she is Cassandra you don’t need to listen to her.

  4. They should go unheeded!

  5. rosemaryhannah

    I dunno if I can persuade the poor little ewe to live. There may be some underlying sinister reason she is so thin. But she is comfortable in my pen with beet pulp and hay and water.

  6. If duely saved the pitifully thin ewe will in time need a new name. I fear the foosty shepherd will take her back which would be rather sorrowful. Be careful of choosing names. I chose Harriet only to discover later it means ‘home ruler’

  7. rosemaryhannah

    Thin sheep was wormed today. I suspect the shepherd will be open to negotiation. Or of course she may not make it – there must be an underlying cause of her thinness (she has her teeth however.)

    Ah, Harriet – indeed – but a very nice little dog.

  8. She little but a lot bigger than Ted.

  9. I only know one dog who is smaller than Ted – though Ted has gained a whole kilo at the home of the HannahBooooston

  10. sorry about Cotton, but very pleased with the great increase in your named animals.

    It won’t surprise you to know I’ve always been rather fond of Cassandra (and loved Marion Zimmer Bradley’s book on her, thought it still can’t hold a candle to Mists of Avalon)

  11. rosemaryhannah

    I’ve not read the book (when have I EVER read the book???) but I too also sympathise a good deal with her.

    Personally I also have a good deal of time for Clytemnestra. I once went as her in fancy dress – it was one of the few occasions I was swamped by possible dance partners, which makes me wonder what goes on in the male psyche (the Cathedral School were out in force, and yes they had tagged the reference) .

    Sheep, named Sarah by Meg (another princess to go with poly Esther, and Cassandra) is holding her own – flukicide set her back as it was bound to do, but she is up and eating again today. I need to make my holding more sheep proof to keep her IN.

  12. Tony Whatmough

    I heard on Farming Today, when half asleep, that cows which have been given names, produce far more than those which haven’t. A lot of research went into this, something which farmers probably have already known. Seem to remember someone talking about sheperds who know all their sheep. Now, I wonder who that was…….

  13. What do you do with your sheep’s extra milk?

Leave a Reply

