Low (and high) Sunday

I started the day wrapped in profound gloom – an unedifying combination of misery and fury. Church lifted it somewhat (a more than usually good sermon, I thought. The preacher looked mildly astonished at this comment. I used to notice in the happy preaching days that any sermon of mine that I thought more than ordinarily mediocre usually drew from somebody the comment that it was especially good.)

Then home in the sunshine. I was determined to be glum about the sun, but it defeated me. And I re-potted the asparagus (subject of word searches leading people to the blog, surprisingly). I had believed much of it dead, despite its over wintering in the house. But only one root seemed to have died, and I got a good number of little phallic seedlings moved into two troughs for more nurture. In fact, an afternoon of tidying and planting in the pots outside the house removed many of the sad casualties of the grim winter, and revived the survivors, and then introduced new joys.

Then a new builder arrived to offer his thoughts on the house. He struck me as man who knew how to balance the demands of craftsmanship and economy. Face by J S Sargent, I think. Do we trust Sargent? He went with the suggestions of my daughter Grace and my surveyor, both of whom I trust. It looks as if I shall end up with a hanging floor. Is that the right term? My Builder’s Bible is buried in a box somewhere. I would put the floor on to the joists myself, thus saving money – but entailing more work.

The long and the short of it is that I will need to find big reserves of courage and energy to see me successfully over all this, but I begin to think I can do it. ‘It is very do-able’ said Sargent.

If the little asparagus can make it through the winter, hopefully, I can make it through the restoration of the house. I ended with a high Sunday after all, or a Sunday high.

4 responses to “Low (and high) Sunday

  1. Sorry to hear you were feeling gloomy, but glad the builder and the asparagus promising.

  2. rosemaryhannah

    Rubens back today to measure up – I am most uneasy about him. I think he is planning on doing a bigger job than really needs done. I think he needs the work very much and can make a good big huge expensive whole canvas with a cast of many out of it. I tend to deny intuition, but I think I pick up more from body language and behaviour than I admit to. One more builder to come next weekend (he is on Arran this week – it is a good excuse) – I have rung sooo many to get three estimates. Many out of business, and others just not replying, or saying they will come out and not doing it.

  3. getting tradesmen to turn up is a nightmare always! Have you watched grand designs? It’s a great show for letting one know one is not alone in ones struggles – even those with millions to splash have all the same problems! Doing up a house as small as mine is a nightmare – so I can only imagine what it must be like for you.

  4. rosemaryhannah

    I begin with the premise that any who need chased too hard to give an quote are not, in the long run, going to cut the mustard – this may not be true, since estimates are often work for nothing. My home is not actually big – the thing is, almost all of it is in a dire state – like the bounces of Tigger, it makes it seem bigger.

Leave a Reply

