Re-grouping

About two thirds of the way during the massive cleanathon that is Thursday, I realised I was Not Wholly Well. I hate this. I hate being under the weather. However I was, and any kind of Ascension Day service was not going to happen. I pondered the best way to get safely home and in the end went for setting off at once, instead of a cuppa with a friend. I got back for a perfect Thursday evening. I inspected the sheep, for Polly too has been Not Wholly Well, though she seems well again now, and the ponies, who are in the now-regrown winter paddock, giving the spring section of the Big Field a rest (and a chance for IT to re-group). Then I walked the dogs, put the poultry behind bars for the night, and collapsed in my chair to watch a comedy movie, and eat my favourite roast veggies.

I have an ideal of Thursday evening – a complete rest from all activity, the kind of Sabbath that the Sabbath (and its adjacent Sunday) never give me. When I arrive at this ideal, when there really is neither anything much needing done urgently, not yet anything I can do, it is a kind of bliss. Mere physical unwellness of the minor kind (lassitude, slight dizziness, malaise) does not touch my joy in these occasions. Strange that being ill actually helps certain kinds of intense pleasure.

10 responses to “Re-grouping

  1. Schmeekins

    Illness doesn’t help any pleasure. One is ill and any pleasure is therefore diminished.

  2. I agree, Schmeekins. But your mother does have a very refined sense of the possibilities of suffering, so perhaps we are missing something.

  3. rosemaryhannah

    This did actually make me laugh out loud. No the pleasure in is the absolute permission to do nothing – so beautiful and so rare.

  4. out with Calvin, in with Matthew Fox.
    … a needed step in your spiritual growth.

  5. rosemaryhannah

    Is it, I ask, doing nothing which makes it Calvinistic or the rarity of doing nothing?

  6. the rarity, of course. (I might have said, ‘less protestant work ethic, more sabbath theology: you need more than an evening.)

    while I might over-work all too often, I actually have very little time for the idea that one should be working.

  7. rosemaryhannah

    Yees – I suspect I am generally better at ACTUALLY doing nothing than you, though your theory is better.

  8. rosemaryhannah

    I’ve never seen how the so-called Protestant ‘Work Ethic can be theologically derived form a theology which stresses the utter impossibility of people doing anything – a theology neatly summed up as ‘Sit down oh men of God, ye cannot do a thing’ (with apologies for any perceived sexism in the language and assuming the writer actually mean ‘O humans of God’ having in mind homo rather than vir as ’twere.)

  9. is it not a derivative of circular logic and a prosperity gospel?

    You will be glad to know that once I get the choir music sorted for tonight, I am switching the computer off, and will spend the evening trying to stay awake until bedtime. West Wing or Harry Potter, I suspect…

  10. rosemaryhannah

    But for all his failings Calvin is not preaching a prosperity gospel.

    No, if you ask me it is a simple case of ‘post hoc, propter hoc.’

Leave a Reply

