Nothing else will do

‘9-11 made me lose my faith’, she said, ‘No I was not a Muslim, but seeing what faith could persuade people to do, I decided that the very idea of God was wrong.’

And the Pope tells us, reasonably enough, that if we lose sight of the worth of humans, then our society is impoverished. Only it is not what his denomination SAYS, but what it has done, that undermines it. The shocking child abuse and the undervaluing of women (as you know I do not believe rubbish about being ‘equally valued for different roles’).

Don’t get comfortable, please.

One of the saddest things I heard was somebody telling how they had joined a church and lost their faith because they could not see any difference between the lives of those who where part of the church and the rest of the world. No, they did not expect they to be perfect, but they expected SOME difference.

People cannot hear what we say if they do not see what we do. If you believe enough for it to be important to you, let it work through into every conscious thought and every unconscious action. Nothing else will do. Sorry.9

5 responses to “Nothing else will do

  1. You don’t make Christianity easy.

  2. rosemaryhannah

    Well, I don’t expect people to be perfect. I don’t expect Christians to live up to the highest aspects of their calling perfectly at all times. But I expect them to take it seriously. I expect them to start on a road. I expect them to think about what they believe and to let that thought carry through into daily life.

    I certainly expect them to abstain form bombing, and from child abuse, and from devaluing women. I also expect them to confront each person they meet as a person and not as an object. Or to try to – knowing how hard it can be when things are stacked against this. I do not always expect them to succeed.

    In time, at least by middle age, I expect it to have worked through, like yeast through dough.

  3. You don’t make it easy, but you’re on the right ball.

    Well, except that the person’s quote makes me think they failed to distinguish between God, a faith, and people’s actions and consequently ejected offspring with the shower-water and that’s really just rather ill-thought-through.

    But you’re still right about there being a call to stand for, and practice, values of honesty and integrity and doing the right thing by folks.

  4. So the woman who lost her faith – did she notice a change in her behaviour? Did she feel that her faith led her to think and act differently? Or was she looking for the other members of the congregation to maintain her faith for her? I’m pretty certain that focussing on the actions of others rather ones own actions will always lead to disappointment.

  5. Rosemary Hannah

    You are of course right Bea -and too many do precisely expect others to carry them – to believe for them, and to be good for them.

    On the other hand, the usual means of evaluation in our age is empirical observation. I can see that that ought, first and foremost (here) be ‘would abandoning my faith alter (remove or enhance) the mainspring driving MY life’ (in my case, totally remove it). But in reality, if people looking at us don’t see some difference, I cannot see why they would bother to get involved at all.

Leave a Reply

