C’mon baby, light my fire!

Oh dear, a long absence of posts. I have been frantically busy at work on the house. My youngest daughter tells me it is not a restoration, but an up-grade. My neighbour, hard at work on it in his allegedly free time, says it is one hell of an up-grade.

I am not sure how much I am contributing, really. Just clearing rooms, buying materials, feeding the workers (Small Neighbour is usually here in the role of apprentice) seems to take most of the time. One offering I am making however, is starting removing the filling from the fireplace.

The more of the fireplace I uncovered, the more it became clear that it was the original, battered and splendid. And large. And filled in with Very Hard Cement and Well Jammed Bricks. I am getting somewhere, but VERY much doubt I will have all of the filling out by Friday, when Neighbour is supposed to start work on installing the new wood burning stove.

Any vernacular architecture experts reading? Do you think the slight ledge suggests it was made to carry a wooden beam at the top? Along the line of the recessed lintel?

2 responses to “C’mon baby, light my fire!

  1. Needless to say, I have no advice and can only marvel at your bravery. But if you can get all that mess out, and a lintel in, then I think you deserve the biggest most beautiful fire you can manage. It will be fabulous. And plenty of room for a cat basket, too.

  2. rosemaryhannah

    Yes. Currently Puddy Em is dividing her time between the kitchen and living room. One is arctic and the other cold. My daughter’s Miu is dividing HER time between the upstairs spare room and my bedroom. The bedroom is occasionally tepid. Bridget is feeling less stiff thanks to treatment and is again sleeping upstairs. Mui is allegedly terrified of dogs, but sleeps happily in pole position on my bed with both. Not at night, for she rises at 1am and demands to be let out. She has a penetrating voice, and after a few episodes, a ban was imposed. Em and Mui met on one occasion and the language was fluent and spectacular. I am dividing my time between work (warm), animal care (cold), hammering out fireplace (warm but very dirty) and bed (warm as long as under covers) (the upside of Max is that he is very large and very warm).

Leave a Reply

